Home Show Menu

Location and Maps

Click on the map for a lager view
Click on the map for a lager view

The Myall Lakes, a series of fresh water lakes protected under the Ramsar Convention, are located adjacent to the East coast, in the Mid North Coast region of New South Wales, Australia.

Most of the Myall Lakes are surrounded by the Myall Lakes National Park, with the area between the lakes and the Tasman Sea being mainly uninhabited coastal woodlands, with long isolated beaches.  There are three lakes - Myall Lake, Boolambyte Lake and The Broadwater with a number of small islands scattered throughout.  All the lakes are interconnected and have an average depth of 2 to 3 metres.  When full the Myall Lake system covers an area of around 9,300 hectares - 70% larger than Sydney Harbour at 5,500 hectares.

The Myall River flows into the north-western side of The Broadwater and flows out from the southern end of The Broadwater passing through the historic fishing village of Tamboy (Tamboi) and continuing  on to the waters of Port Stephens, via the towns of Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest.


View the location of the lakes on Google Maps here.

General Maps of the Myall Lakes Area

DownloadClick here to open the location map for the Myall Lakes (Copyright Department of Lands 2002) (123 KB)

© Copyright 2024 Myall Lakes Aquatic Club Inc